Recipe 9: Peanut Butter Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites

Sorry for my absence.  I haven’t baked in over two weeks.  I haven’t given up, I’ve just been re-prioritizing lately.  The weather has been bizarre this winter/spring.  The sun has graced us with its presence quite a bit these past few days, and I think the vitamin D has been working wonders.  So instead of spending all my time in the kitchen, I’ve been outside as much as possible.

I stumbled upon this quote a few weeks ago while wandering around town with a friend.  I happened to see it again yesterday, and it motivated me to get back on the blog.  This semester has been a weird one for me–not necessarily good or bad, just weird.  I had to do some real soul searching about whether or not I made the right career decision.  Someone told me at the beginning of the semester that in order to be the best counselor, I need to adapt my own worldview:  a daunting, yet exciting task.  I haven’t developed mine quite yet, but I do know this:  all people need to be loved, and one way I share love is through food.  Thank you to my people who have been here for me these past few weeks.

IMG_4422

This recipe is from a few weeks ago when I had a weekend class.  I like to think it brought some smiles to my classmates’ faces during our rainy weekend class.  It combines some of the best snacks into one–little crunch, little salt, lots of chocolate.

Peanut Butter Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites

IMG_4415 1.  Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside. 2.  Melt the butter and peanut butter.   I melted mine in the microwave.  Those dishes are pretty special–they were my Bubbe’s (grandmother).  She taught me how to show my love for others through food.

IMG_4404

3.  Mix the sugars and butters in a mixer.  After combined, mix in eggs and vanilla IMG_4405 4.  Slowly add in the dry ingredients.

5.  Crush the pretzels.  I put mine in a plastic bag, lay the bag over a towel to catch crumbs, and hammer away with a rolling pin.  Baking:  good for anger management and tastes great! IMG_4408

6.  Mix in the crushed pretzels and chocolate chips.

IMG_4409

7.  Use your hands to form the cookie.  I’ve noticed that cookie dough with peanut butter tends to separate the chocolate chip from the dough.  Push them into the dough to make sure they stay part of the cookie.

IMG_4410

Make sure your hands are washed!

8.  Bake for 8-10 minutes until the cookie is lightly golden.  Bring to class or work and share the love!

IMG_4413

Link to the recipe: http://www.howsweeteats.com/2013/03/peanut-butter-pretzel-chocolate-chip-cookie-bites/

Leave a Reply

