Recipe 8: Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

“Spring” break has come and gone.  Spring breaks used to be filled with spontaneous trips to Germany, half marathons in DC, adventures in San Fran, and Deer Valley cookies…I mean ski trips out west.  And by far the best part of a ski trip was lunch at Silver Lake Lodge.   Have I mentioned their cookies yet?  Seriously, they’re worth a trip to Utah.  I also loved lunch because it was the only time our family spent together on the mountain.  My brother is a naturally talented skier.  My sister is fiercely competitive and sets personal goals of skiing every run on the mountain at least twice before the lifts close (and really tries to avoid breaking bones after that one time…).  My dad isn’t so bad himself.  My mom and I on the other hand decided that snowshoeing is just as great an activity and a little less frightening.  So family ski trips became divide and conquer and see ya for lunch!

200116_1005487649953_404_n

The fam on the “beach”

The cookie that I recently made would be a perfect post skiing, or any kind of exercise, cookie.  It has all the ingredients you want after working out–peanut butter, banana, and a hint of chocolate!  Maybe I should pitch the recipe to Deer Valley and move out west?  I’m attempting to train for a half marathon amongst the ice, snow, and rain that Nashville seems to be gracing us with.  After a 6 mile run on Sunday, these were the perfect refuel treat.

They also earned a breakfast stamp of approval from my 9am class friends.  What a versatile cookie!

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies:

1.  Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

2.  Blend the sugars and melted butter together until smooth.

3.  Pour in the melted peanut butter.


IMG_4384

4.  Combine the mashed up bananas with the peanut butter mixture.  It will remain a bit chunky.

IMG_4390

An action shot for y’all

5.   Slowly add in the dry ingredients.  Or add them up quickly and make a mess.  Choice is yours.

IMG_4394

6.  Add in the chocolate chips—don’t measure them.  Live a little.

7.  Bake for about 10-ish minutes.

IMG_4395

Some reflections and modifications:
The banana is really overpowering.  I personally couldn’t taste the peanut butter, so if I make these again (duh, I’m making them again!), I’m putting in way more pb and a little less banana.  I would also throw in some oats and take out some flour.  And to make it super healthy I would sub in some dark chocolate.

Thanks Ellen for helping me make these!  Bet y’all thought that hand was mine…

Find the original recipe here:  http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/04/peanut-butter-banana-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Leave a Reply

