Recipe 7: Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

This recipe is flourless and gluten free.  No, I’m not gluten free.  Yes, I eat gluten often..more like all the time.  We live in a world where it has become trendy to cut out food groups—paleo this, sugar detox that, etc.   If that is your thing, go for it.  If you have an allergy or medical condition that prevents you from eating gluten, please continue to do what you need to to stay healthy and happy.  My philosophy?  I’m sugar FULL, gluten FULL, dairy FULL, and definitely peanut FULL until a doctor tells me I can’t be.

So why make the gluten free cookies?  In case you forgot, I’m making 99 recipes with peanut butter.  Not just any recipes (so while I appreciate the requests, I have to finish my list first).  The recipes come from here..send me requests from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/01/23/best-peanut-butter-recipes_n_6525130.html?ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000063 please!

Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies:

IMG_4345

This recipe is so easy!

1.  Blend the peanut butter, brown sugar, baking soda, and eggs in a mixer.
IMG_4340

2.  Mix in the chocolate chips.  The recipe calls for 1 cup, but we all know that isn’t enough chocolate!  I actually rarely measure chocolate chips.  You will know when you have enough.

3.  Form your cookies and bake.  The recipe calls for 10 minutes, but mine were more than ready after 7 minutes.

IMG_4342

Baking tip:  Stagger your cookies on a baking sheet.  This prevents overcrowding.  Plus it’s how my Mom taught me to bake cookies.  I trust everything my Mom says in the kitchen!

4.  Eat and enjoy!

IMG_4344

Thoughts on Gluten Free Cookies:

I do not typically eat gluten free baked goods.  So take this critique with my ignorance in mind.  These cookies were good, not great.  The texture was a little more crumbly and would go well paired with some milk.  As long as I can still eat gluten, I’m sticking to regular cookies.

My friend who is doing her dietetic internship suggested a way to add some nutritional value to this cookie.  Take some oats and turn them into oat flour by pulsing them in a food processor.  Add to the cookie dough, and let me know how it changes the consistency!

Recipe:  http://www.bunsinmyoven.com/2012/06/13/flourless-peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-cookies/ 

Leave a Reply

