Recipe 6: Nutella Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies

I have a rule that it’s not dessert if it doesn’t have chocolate.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a good fruit crisp or cake….as long as there is a chocolate option on the side. That being said, I tend to not mess with peanut butter cookies.  I obviously will have to get past this bias of mine as I continue to bake these 99 recipes.  However, no surprise that I picked the peanut butter cookie filled with nutella as my first pb cookie.

I’m happy to report that even the skeptic (me) determined this recipe is a keeper.  There was a perfect pb to nutella ratio so I didn’t feel chocolate deprived.  You can also (attempt) to surprise people with the nutella on the inside, because the cookie looks like plain peanut butter from the outside.  Here’s how you do it:

1.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and make 26 teaspoons of nutella.  Freeze for about an hour.

IMG_4264

2. Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl (flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt).

3.  In your mixer, combine the butter and both sugars.  Then beat in the peanut butter until it is combined.

IMG_4260

Tip: Let butter get to room temperature and cut it up to combine quicker

4.  Add in the egg and vanilla.

 IMG_4262

IMG_4261

5.  Slowly add in the mixed dry ingredients.

 IMG_4263

6. Now for the fun part.  Take out your frozen nutella.  Take about half a cookie’s worth of dough, place the frozen nutella on it, take the second half of dough to conceal the nutella.

 IMG_4266

IMG_4268

7.  Use a fork to make the typical peanut butter cookie indents.  Bake for 10-12 minutes at 350.

IMG_4269

IMG_4271

Wouldn’t think there was nutella inside..

What I would do differently:
I like to make cookies pretty small, so I can eat more.   I would make 1/2 teaspoon sized frozen nutella bits to make twice as many cookies.            IMG_4273

IMG_4300

Thanks Marissa for being the hand model!

Find the recipe here:  http://www.handletheheat.com/nutella-stuffed-peanut-butter-cookies/

Leave a Reply

