Recipe 5: 5 Ingredient Triple Decker Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

IMG_4249

Parking lot turned ice skating rink

We’re currently iced/snowed in in Nashville.  As much as it has been great to have some time off from class and work, it has been a challenge to find comfort in slowing down for a few days.  Despite earning the reputation as the ‘lazy child’ of the three kids in the family (while the other two were competitive athletes always at sports practice, I was typically found memorizing the top 10 music videos on TRL), I have found that I am happiest when I’m busy and productive.  The ice has forced me to stay inside and take a breather.  I managed to do an hour and a half of yoga which is something I know I need to incorporate into my life, but it is so hard for me to turn off my brain and “be present.”   I somehow have never managed to do that in yoga, but the stretching must have been good for me, right?  I’m not sure if I’ll ever be fully present and focused in yoga, especially because I don’t really know how to stop thinking, but baking for sure allows me to get into the zone and flow.

On this ice day I decided to go for a no bake triple decker bar.  This recipe is simple, easy, and so tasty!  It is more or less a homemade Reese’s.  And of course it is good for you because it’s mostly peanut butter…aka protein!

Even if you don’t feel confident in your baking skills, I am confident that anyone can make this recipe!  Here’s how….

1. Melt chocolate chips and peanut butter.  You can either do this in a saucepan on the stove or in the microwave.  Regardless of the method, be very involved so you don’t burn the chocolate.  That’s the only way you can ruin this recipe..so slow and steady is better than fast and burnt.

IMG_4234

IMG_4235

2.  Spread the melted chocolate and peanut butter in a pan lined with parchment paper. Put in the fridge for about 30 min.

3.  In a mixer (hand mixer would work too), combine butter, peanut butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla.  Mix until creamy.  Spread this mixture onto the chocolate layer.

IMG_4237                                   IMG_4238

4.  Repeat step one by melting more chocolate and peanut butter.  Spread evenly onto the peanut butter layer to make your third and final layer.

IMG_4236

5. Place the whole pan in the fridge for about 1-2 hours before cutting.

6.  Serve and enjoy!

IMG_4244

Want to make these with a twist?  Here are some ideas–try a different kind of nut butter or a different kind of chocolate.  Warning:  make sure the nut butter isn’t super oily because it won’t form a creamy solid filling.  If you’re a white chocolate person, be careful to get a good quality chocolate because white chocolate can be temperamental when melting. Try something new and let me know how it goes!

Find the recipe here:  http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/5-ingredient-tripple-decker-chocolate-peanut-butter-bars/

Leave a Reply

